Erasmus Mundus Master Scholarships in Biohealth Computing, Europe

The BioHealth Computing EM is a one year MSc programme, open to well motivated students, who are top-level Bachelor completed by a first year of Master of science, in a field in relation with the scope of the master programme (for instance: Clinical research, Public health, Molecular biotechnology, Applied mathematics or related fields with a number of prerequisites in  Biology and/or in Computing). The admission policy is intended to ensure equal opportunity of access to higher education for qualified European and third country students.

1. Students are required having already completed a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc. degree or a nationally recognized degree equivalent to 180 ECTS) and the first year of a Master of Science (MSc degree  or a nationally recognized degree equivalent to 60 ECTS), with a minimum grade of “B–“ in the ECTS grading scale (at least a score of 70%). If requested, the applicant must prove the international recognition of the mentioned Degree as equivalent to a B.Sc. + first year of Ms, and provide such official recognition translated in English. An academic equivalency may be attributed based on the professional experience of the applicant (validation of acquired experience).

2. Students are required having a fluent level in English, certified by a TOEFL score. The result has to be paper based at least 580, computer based at least 237 or internet based at least 92-93. An alternative is a minimum score of 6.5 from IELTS test. Furthermore, basic computer skills are required. The Consortium Committee can admit excellent students with a somewhat lower TOEFL (550, 213 or 79-80 respectively) or IELTS score (6.0).

Students apply through a standard application form which can be downloaded from this website, or can be sent on request, or can be obtained from the partners awarding the degree. The Coordinating Institution provides first-hand support via telephone or e-mail for all questions regarding the application. Applications have to be sent to the Coordinating Institution before the agreed deadlines in order to be eligible. It contains all elements necessary for further selection (such as letter of motivation, full academic background containing a list of courses followed, obtained grades, information about the ranking of the students in their previous studies, language skills, motivation). Furthermore two recommendation letters will be asked of each student. Students also indicate the Research teams in which they want to do their research and the Universities where they want to follow their courses. The Coordinator collects all application forms, checks whether students fulfill basic diploma requirements, and prepares an overview for the selection by the BioHealth Computing EM Educational Committee. Subsequently the Educational Committee selects from the list of applicants the students who can enter the course, and the Third- and European Country students that will be proposed for a scholarship. The Education Committee selects and ranks the students that are, or not eligible, for a scholarship.

The Erasmus Mundus Programme provide scholarships for students and for academics interested in performing research, teaching or other university-related work within the BioHealth Computing Master course. The online application for 2011-12 candidates starts on September, 1st, 2010, and scholarships are notified on May 2011.

Three types of Erasmus Mundus scholarships are available:
  • Category A, open to Non-European (third-country) applicants;
  • Category B, open to European applicants;
  • Academics, open to Scholars and Professors.
Category A
Non-European Students
Category B European Students Academics Scholars
Contribution to travel, installation and other types of costs €8000

Maximum contribution to the EM participation costs €8000 €4000
Monthly allowance (during 12 months/year) €12000 €6000 €1,200 per week (maximum 14,400 € for 3 months)
Deadline Jan 11th at 12:00 (GMT+2) Apr 30th at 12:00 (GMT+2) April 30th at 12:00 (GMT+2)

Eligible applicants countries to category A student EC scholarships are defined in the Erasmus Mundus programme, as all countries of the world with the exception of  Erasmus Mundus eligible applicant countries to category B student scholarships: i.e. the 27 EU Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom), the EEA-EFTA States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway).
Additional Scholarships will be assigned by:
  • Erasmus Mundus Programme, to applicants from the “Western Balkans and Turkey Window”, i.e. nationals of Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Kosovo under UNSC Resolution 1244/99, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey.
  • BioHealth Computing Consortium, to applicants whose background and interest match very closely with the priorities of the consortium. A limited number of scholarships will be granted.
Application Deadline : 11 January 2011
Web Link
Powered by Blogger.